Remember the book Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark? It was written by Alvin Schwartz and had these insanely terrifying illustrations by Stephen Gammell. Well, it is celebrating it’s 30th anniversary this year and the publishers are relaunching it with some illustrations that aren’t nearly as scary or cool, and people on the Internet are mad. I totally remember being creeped the heck out by these drawings as a kid. They are most likely better than the stories themselves. I remember one story being about a feral child raised by wolves. I don’t remember the plot line, but I have held an unhealthy fascination with feral children ever since, and that has probably been like 18 years at this point. So now that the book is out of print, and the new one has uncool drawings, old copies are going for like $100 online. I wonder if my parents still have mine somewhere.




The last one was from a story called “The Red Spot,” where a teenage girl has this big zit or boil on her face that won’t go away, and one night it pops and it’s full of spiders. Cool, right?

Images via adventuresinpoortaste. You can follow a link to see how these compare to the new illustrations.

